Collegium Visionary Award

two people standing

Christina Carlson receives Visionary Award from Collegium's Tom Landy

2022 Visionary Award: Christina Carlson

The Collegium Board has awarded Christina Carlson (G’00, F’17), Associate Professor of English at Iona College, the 2022 Visionary Award.

Call for Nominations!

The Collegium Visionary Award is meant to celebrate and advance the work of Collegium alumni/ae in the many ways that Collegium encourages: leadership to promote Catholic mission on member campuses, scholarship to advance the Catholic intellectual tradition or to bring other traditions into fruitful dialogue with it, and innovative teaching to bring aspects of the summer colloquy to life for students.

Eligibility: All alumni/ae who participated in Collegium as faculty or graduate fellows are eligible, except for Collegium board members during the term of their board membership.

Nominations: All Collegium alumni/ae are invited to nominate fellow alumni/ae who they regard as outstanding exemplars of Collegium’s mission by one or more of the criteria described above. Nomination letters, up to 2pp. single spaced, should articulate clearly why the nominee merits the award, and help us evaluate the impact of that nominee’s work on campus, in the classroom, or in the scholarly realm. Nominations the Visionary Award are due yearly on September 15 and should be emailed to Karen Eilfer at eifler [at] Please be sure to contact Karen with any questions. The recipient of the award will be announced in the Collegium newsletter and will be given the award on the recipient’s home campus.

The Collegium Board will review the nominations and recommend an awardee. The award will consist of a framed citation to be presented at a reception on the awardee’s home campus late in the spring semester, and an award of $1000 that can be used for a retreat, in support of relevant academic research and pedagogical development, or for mission-related events on campus.

The award will be announced in the spring newsletter.

Visionary Award Recipients